PCDC Celebrates Friends and Supporters at Chinese New Year Fundraising Banquet

PCDC Celebrates Friends and Supporters at Chinese New Year Fundraising Banquet

February 3, 2017 saw the return of a community tradition, this time to ring in the Year of the Rooster: PCDC’s Chinese New Year fundraising banquet. This year, PCDC staff and board and over 400 guests joined together at Ocean City Restaurant in Chinatown to enjoy a traditional nine-course banquet, lion dances from the Philadelphia Suns, and share the pride, appreciation, hopes, and plans for the future of affordable housing, Asian American affairs, social justice, and Chinatown.

The honored recipient of PCDC’s Community Service Award this year is Judy Berkman, senior counsel at Regional Housing Legal Services, and long-time pro-bono legal advisor for both PCDC and many other affordable housing causes throughout the region. Other special guests included Commerce director Harold Epps, Councilman Mark Squilla, City Director of Planning and Development Anne Fadullon, Deputy Mayor Nina Ahmad, a Representative from the Mayor’s Commission on Asian American Affairs.

We would like to thank this year’s event sponsors:

Hunter Roberts, PECO, BB&T, the Beneficial Foundation, Health Partners Plans, Jefferson University Hospital, More Bank, Parke Bank, PNC Bank, Wells Fargo, AARP, Citizens Bank, Comcast NBC10 Telemundo62 Comcast Spectacor, Mel Heifetz, Pennsylvania Convention Center Authority, Pennsylvania Housing Finance Authority, PHL Diversity, PREIT, Santander Bank, TD Bank, Asian Bank, The Abstract Company, Chinese Christian Church & Center, Hing Cheng P.C., 6ABC WPVI-TV, ATC Group Services, Chinese American Women’s Sisterhood Society of Philadelphia, John Wei, Luen Fong Food & Produce Inc., and Parkway Corporation, among many more.

Thanks also to our volunteers who went above and beyond to ensure the event ran smoothly:

Martin Chan, Margaret Chin, Matthew Chin, Michael Choe, Jacquelyn Chow, Michael Chow, Kevin He, Glenn Hing, Yuan Huang, Yuki Huang, Wai Man Ip, Ebony Jiang, Grace Kong, Frances Lam, Jenn Lam, Betsy Lee, Derek Lee, Harry Leong, L. Lew, Vionna Lo, Jodi Marcus, Cecilia Moy Yep, George Moy, Gary Ng, Katherine Ngee, Aileen Setiawan, Phil Sheau, Trudy Sheau, Katie Shen, Chung Siu, Juelun Wei, Bryant Wong, Carol Wong, Jackie Wong, Mae Wong, Tony Wong, Dongni Zhang, Lamei Zhang, Joey Zhao, Zhicheng Zhao, Kevin Zheng, Siqi Zheng, Jiayu Zhou, Chutong Zhu, and Linda Zhu.

And thanks to everyone who came to share the Chinese New Year celebration with us to support Chinatown in 2017.